Apple e-mail scam


We’ve unfortunately had a few customers this week that have fallen for some very convincing scams, so we’re posting some examples on our blog to show you how to tell the fake from the genuine.

 

click to enlarge the image above

This e-mail claims to be from Apple, but there’s some giveaway signs that it’s not a genuine Apple e-mail .

Firstly, the sender’s address – they’ve used the name “Apple” and this might be all that shows up on some e-mail apps or phones.  But the actual address is definitely not from Apple – whose e-mails all come from [email protected], not “aplel.com”.

Apple scam e-mail

The logo at the top of the e-mail, and the very official looking footer help to make the e-mail look legitimate.  The address is actually Apple’s HQ address, and the links at the bottom of the e-mail to point to the real Apple website.  There are a couple of spelling and grammar mistakes in the e-mail text though, can you spot them?

Apple scam e-mail

But the big giveaway is the link in the middle of the e-mail – the one they ask you to click, to update your details.  The link looks like it would take you to the Apple website – but if you hover over the link (DON’T click it please!) you see the real address that you would be sent to.  I won’t reproduce it here, but you can see it’s definitely not apple.com.  If you’re ever suspicious of a link in an e-mail or on a web page, hover over it to check before you click.  This will show you where it will actually take you, as the link address can be made to say anything, and crafty scammers use this to their advantage.

Apple scam e-mail

Lastly, it’s very unlikely that Apple would contact you by e-mail to ask you to update your information and threaten to delete your account if you didn’t.  I’m always suspicious of these e-mails, and if in doubt, it’s better not to click on them, but instead, to go to the website by typing in the address manually.  If Apple had a security breach for example, that meant they needed everyone to reset their passwords, there would certainly be an update on their website about it, where you could check if the request was genuine.

I hope this information helps – stay safe online and check before you click!